来自天空岛的唐纳德背后的男人

我现在46岁了,时间在30岁以后过得飞快。我从14岁开始工作,第一份工作是在星期六做烟囱扫除,我爸爸开车送我去上班把他的手也弄脏了,那份工作不仅不难,对我而言还很有意义。我很热衷于为自己工作。无论何时,我爸爸都不是一个难搞的人,总是让自己做决定。“好吧,爸爸,我去爬梯子,这对你来说太危险了。” 苍天啊,其实我是很恐高的。但是我绝不会在爸爸面前承认过这一点,他认为我无所畏惧的,即使要我死,我也要维持这个形象,我绝对不会让爸爸失望的。

calum dfs

我一直对科技很感兴趣,1982年我拥有了ZX频谱。但在我年轻的时候,技术并不怎么样。所以,1990年技术学院毕业后,我在外面游荡了好几年,不知道自己该做什么。Windows95使电脑运算第一次面向大众,改变了一切。1997年,我的背部受了重伤,手术后我患有了严重的坐骨神经痛,都不能走路。但是在那之后,Windows95和做为一名学习电视和声音制作的“27岁大龄学生”改变了我的人生。

“来自天空岛的唐纳德”的构想来自于我当时6岁的侄女画的一幅画。它挂在厨房的墙上很多年了,我把这幅画叫做“小粉人”。画上是她、两个弟弟和妹妹。我觉得这很美妙,因为它总能让我笑出来。我可以从电视上看到她画的这个家庭,他们在某种程度上像“辛普森一家”。所以在2017年11月初的一天,关于天空岛夏天的各种问题,看着她的画,我萌生了为天空岛的创建一个人物的想法,他将试着解决岛上正面临的一些问题。我现在11岁的侄女将会画出他。

about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum

最初的想法是创造一个软体公仔,并在当地商店出售,目的是把他变成一个电视/网站人物。这也是我们所做到的。她从我对唐纳德会有什么特征、会穿什么以及他大致会是什么样子的想法中画出了唐纳德。这幅画让我吃惊甚至带给我很大的震撼,所以现在的创作都源于此。随着时间的推移,我对他应该发展的方向有了更多的构想,而3D动画与真实镜头的结合是这个愿景的初始发展。所以当软体公仔出现时,我们都有点失望,因为没有达到要求。最后把重点放在将唐纳德变成一个3D任务,这就是我们现在所完成的。费基是后来者,直到6个月后才出现在我们的视野中。从概念到推出用了1年时间,这是一段史诗般的旅程。我喜欢并享受在其中的每一分钟,十分有趣。

I would personally like to thank a few people who all brought this together namely Sadie MacDonald, David Mattock, Christian Chodecki, Richard Czechy, Graeme Duncan, Gilleasbuig Ferguson (Donald), Rory MacKenzie (Fergie), Iain Copeland, Karen Ferguson

calum behind donald

the man behind donald from skye

I’m 46 now, time does fly especially after 30. I’ve worked since I was 14, my first job being a chimney sweep on Saturdays whilst still at school, my dad drove me to the jobs and got his hands dirty too, well it wasn’t hard in that job. It was great. I loved it. Working for myself.

Dad wasn’t a hard boss by any means and let me make the decisions. “Right Dad, I’ll go up the ladder, it’s too dangerous for you.” I was scared of heights for goodness sake. I never admitted this in front of dad. No way. He thought I was fearless so I was going to keep up this facade. Even if it killed me. No way does a kid want to let his dad down. It just doesn’t happen.

calum dfs

I was always into technology and I had the ZX Spectrum in 1982 but the tech wasn’t up to much when I was younger so after leaving Technical college in 1990, I drifted around for a few years not knowing what to do with myself. Windows95 changed all that and made computing available for the masses for the very first time. Windows95 and going back as a “mature student” at 27 to study TV & Sound production in 1997 changed the course of my life. This followed my serious back injury which got operated on in 1997, I had severe sciatica and couldn’t walk.

The idea for Donald from Skye came from a drawing that my 8 year old niece (at the time) did. It was hanging in the kitchen wall for years and I called the drawing “The Pinkies”. The drawing was of her, her 2 brothers and her sister and I thought it was great because it made me laugh. I could see this family she had drawn on TV, they were Simpson like in a way. So one day in early November 2017 and after there being big problems in the press about Skye all summer, whilst looking at her picture, I came up with the idea of a creating a character for the Isle of Skye and how he was going to try and resolve some of the issues the island was facing. And my now 11 year old niece would draw him.

about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum
about calum

The original idea was to create a soft toy and sell this toy in local shops with the goal of turning him into a TV/website character. So this is what we did. She drew Donald from my ideas of what features he would have, what he would wear and how he would roughly look. What took off from that drawing in my mind even took me by surprise and the current creation all stemmed from there. As it progressed, more ideas were coming to me with the direction he should be taking and the idea of 3D animation mixed with real footage was an early part of the vision. So when the soft toy turned up, we were all a bit deflated. It just wasn’t cutting the mustard. That then put the focus on turning Donald into a 3D character which is what we have now. Fergie was an afterthought and didn’t come into the picture until 6 months in. It’s taken 1 year to produce from concept to launch. It’s been an epic journey and I loved every minute of it. It’s been great fun.

I would personally like to thank a few people who all brought this together namely Sadie MacDonald, David Mattock, Christian Chodecki, Richard Chyzy, Graeme Duncan, Gilleasbuig Ferguson (Donald), Rory MacKenzie (Fergie), Elaine Ferguson, Willie Urqhuart, Iain Copeland

calum behind donald